Pirates Abound in China

"My understanding of President Hu Jintao's dialogue with Bill Gates … is that it sent the signal that the Chinese government wants foreign investors and businesses to have confidence in China's intellectual property protections," Wang Ziqiang, the spokesman for the State Copyright Bureau, told a news conference. (whole store here via Yahoo)

Yeah right. I’ll believe it when I see it. A Chinese “Copyright Bureau”… that’s an oxymoron if I ever heard one.

With the people in China so afraid of their government (and rightfully so), if the government really said STOP, the people would stop immediately. I strongly doubt anyone in China would be interested in an extended stay at a local prison. I’m not an expert, but I hear they’re a little rougher than a minimum security US country club.

Frankly, I believe the Chinese government loves (and unofficially supports) the pirating of intellectual property rights. It helps to weaken their global competitors.

Leave a Reply

